Author Topic: Opening Bridgepal 220  (Read 4113 times)

Neil Cliff

• View Profile
Opening Bridgepal 220
« on: March 04, 2019, 15:12:59 »
I am new to this system but am very enthusiastic.Unfortunately I am an Apple man rather than PC. However I am familiar enough with PC's to find my way around(roughly) and use an old Lenovo Thinkpad for Scorebridge and Bridge Composer.

I have manged to download  the  phone app and Bridge server and the phone connects OK with the PC.

However I cannot open the Bridgepal220 which I eventually managed to download. I keep being warned off opening it (Do you want this app from an unknown publisher  etc, )  and when i tick boxes it tries to download it again but I cannot open it.
I have Windows 10 and note Defender which is still running can slow things down.Could it stop the programme operating?

Thank you
neil cliff

johng

• Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: Opening Bridgepal 220
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2019, 15:39:44 »
Hi Neil,

Welcome to the forum.

I assume you are probably getting a blue popup window with the message "Windows protected your PC...Running this app might put your PC at risk". This is probably generated because the file is not digitally signed. However, it has been virus checked and is safe to use.

To install it, click on the "More Info" link in the blue popup window and then click the button "Run Anyway" Ignore any message about the dangers of running an executable file.

Windows Defender would not stop the program installing. We recommend disabling Windows Defender while runnning BridgePal in the club because it may initiate a real-time scan when it thinks the PC is idle (no keyboard or mouse activity for a period of time). This scan is very CPU and disk intensive, and on some PCs can cause extended delays in responses to requests from the BridgePal phones/tablets.

John

Neil Cliff

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2019, 19:11:36 »