Author Topic: Caffeine  (Read 192 times)

Dglaz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Caffeine
« on: November 23, 2018, 11:01:56 »
Mirna reports that Caffeine is available at : https://apkpure.com/caffeine/nl.syntaxa.caffeine

but I cannot find the 'sqcube' version recommended by Peter W in his post ( https://mirgo2.co.uk/bridgepal_forum/index.php?topic=84.0 ), which I believe allow more control over. the display


Reg Hull

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: Caffeine
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2018, 14:59:26 »
Hi
I am probably missing the benefit of using Caffine. Why not just use the power display options available within Android?

Mirna

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 76
    • View Profile
Re: Caffeine
« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2018, 15:04:12 »
The link I provided seems to go to the version of Caffeine with sqcubes as author. Presumably this is the version that Peter recommended

Peter W

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: Caffeine
« Reply #3 on: November 29, 2018, 13:46:22 »
Mirna's link opens the Apkpure page for the sqcubes Caffeine app that I've set up for the two clubs I maintain on my browser.
I couldn't get the same effect from the versions of Android I've been working with. I could set up so the screen switched off completely after 15 or 30 seconds, but not to just dim it and stay on. If the screen switched off then the power button had to be used to get it on again, which is much less convenient. Let me know if I've missed some Android setting please.

Mirna

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 76
    • View Profile
Re: Caffeine
« Reply #4 on: November 29, 2018, 15:04:07 »
I must have been lucky, but Caffeine works for me on several different devices and it works well. I run it on Alcatel Pixi4, Alcatel POP4, Google Nexus 4, Lenovo tab7 and an ancient Kindle. I use BridgePal launcher so when I turn the device on, after half a minute I get CONNECTED... message and the Caffeine icon on the status bar on top of the screen. Screen is dimmed as expected until I tap it.
My settings:
Settings - Display - Sleep - after 1 minute of inactivity.
Start Caffeine, set to ON
Brightness - Dim after system display timeout
Deactivate when screen turns off - unticked
Activate Caffeine for applications - select BridgePal
Enable Caffeine at boot - ticked
Activate at boot - ticked

... I think that's all

Mirna

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 76
    • View Profile
Re: Caffeine
« Reply #5 on: December 19, 2018, 15:23:03 »
UPDATE - I have found that Caffeine doesn't work as expected on Alcatel U5. The screen doesn't dim, but it turns off.

Dglaz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Caffeine
« Reply #6 on: December 20, 2018, 08:26:22 »
I have had a similar experience with Acer tablets which I suspect is caused by Acer's own software. I have not been able to explore it while sorting out other issues, but hope to have a look over the Christmas break.